CHTI logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CHTI Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • The McAfee Institute CHTI exam is online-proctored, so scheduling depends on your license and proctor availability, not a published national test calendar.
  • The exam-only product costs US$450 and includes one attempt, proctoring, and a one-year exam license.
  • The exam is a three-hour, closed-book, single-sitting assessment with a 70% final passing threshold.
  • Confirm eligibility first: degree-plus-experience routes vary, and exam-only access excludes many private, nonprofit, and volunteer roles.

Why the CHTI Doesn't Run on a Fixed Calendar

Candidates searching for "CHTI exam dates 2026" often expect a table of quarterly testing windows, the way some professional credentials publish them. The Certified Human Trafficking Investigator credential from the McAfee Institute does not appear to work that way. In the issuer's current public product descriptions, the final assessment is delivered through online proctoring. A candidate secures an exam license, then sits the assessment within that license period.

That distinction matters for planning. Instead of asking "which window should I target?", the better questions are "when does my one-year exam license begin, when will I be genuinely ready, and what proctoring slot can I secure?" This article walks through those mechanics using only what the issuer's retrieved public pages support, and it flags what you must confirm directly before committing money to a date.

A note on verification: The public product pages reviewed for this guide were retrieved on September 29, 2026. Scheduling mechanics, proctor configuration, and fees can change. Treat anything here as a planning framework and confirm the current process with the issuer at the time you purchase. For the broader picture of what the credential involves, see our overview of what CHTI certification is.

How CHTI Scheduling Works: License, Proctoring, and Your Window

The exam license is the real "window"

The exam-only product includes one attempt, proctoring, and a one-year exam license. In practical terms, the license is the time boundary you work within. You are not racing a published deadline shared by every candidate; you are managing your own twelve-month clock from the point your license is issued. The course bundle likewise carries a one-year exam license alongside lifetime learning access.

One important caution: a one-year exam license and lifetime course access do not establish how long the credential itself remains valid. Those are separate concepts, covered under renewal below.

Online proctoring and what it implies for scheduling

The assessment is online-proctored. Older general license FAQ material names ProctorU, and some general language also describes automated or AI-assisted proctoring. Because the exact proctor configuration for the CHTI specifically is not authenticated in the retrieved public sources, confirm the current vendor and rules before you schedule. This affects your date choice in three ways:

  • Identity and webcam checks apply. Plan for a quiet room, a working webcam, and valid identification at the moment of your sitting.
  • Technical readiness is part of "being ready." A date is only a good date if your equipment, connection, and testing space are verified beforehand.
  • Slot availability may vary. If the proctoring service uses scheduled slots rather than on-demand entry, booking earlier than your target gives you room to reschedule if something goes wrong.

What to Settle Before You Book

Eligibility comes first

Do not pick an exam date until your eligibility is clear. The issuer's current eligibility alternatives are:

  1. A bachelor's degree or higher plus one relevant year of experience
  2. An associate degree plus two relevant years
  3. A high-school diploma or equivalent plus four relevant years

Qualified applicants may self-study rather than purchasing the course. However, the exam-only product is intended for people with official investigative or intelligence responsibilities, and it excludes multiple private, nonprofit, volunteer, and advocacy roles. Broader marketing language on the course page does not override that restriction. If your role is ambiguous, written approval from the issuer is the path forward, and that approval takes time. Build it into your timeline. Our full guide to CHTI requirements, eligibility, and prerequisites covers how to document your experience.

Background and conduct policy

A background and conduct policy applies to candidates. The number of references required is unverified in the retrieved sources, so ask the issuer what documentation is needed and how long processing takes before you assume you can sit the exam on a specific day.

Key Takeaway

Resolve eligibility and documentation before you pay for a license. A one-year clock that starts while you are still waiting on role approval wastes preparation time you cannot get back.

Fees and the One-Year License Clock

The published fee structure is straightforward, and it directly shapes how you should think about timing.

OptionPriceWhat's includedTiming implication
Exam-onlyUS$450One attempt, proctoring, one-year exam license; no course or guide accessBest if you have already studied or have strong field experience; one attempt means readiness matters
Course bundleUS$1,49731 hours of instruction, 31 CPE, lifetime learning access, one-year exam licenseGives structured prep time inside the license year

No separate member versus nonmember schedule is published. The 31 hours and 31 CPE figures describe training quantity. They are not the exam duration or a question count. For a full cost comparison, see the CHTI certification cost breakdown and the analysis of whether the certification is worth it.

Why "one attempt" changes your scheduling behavior

Because the exam-only fee includes a single attempt, scheduling is a one-shot decision. Booking too early to "lock in a date" and then sitting underprepared is the costliest mistake available here. Whether a retake can be purchased and at what price is not established in the retrieved public sources, so confirm retake policy with the issuer before you rely on a second chance.

What the Sitting Looks Like on Exam Day

Knowing the format helps you choose a start time and a day of the week that protects your focus.

  • Duration: three hours, single sitting. You cannot split the exam across two days.
  • Book access: closed-book.
  • Passing threshold: 70% on the final assessment. Course-path review quizzes also require 70%.
  • Question count: not confirmed for the CHTI specifically. General license policy references approximately 200 questions and mixed formats (multiple-choice, true/false, scenarios), but those are not authenticated CHTI-specific specifications. The scored versus unscored split is unknown.
  • Pass rate: not publicly disclosed. The 70% figure is a threshold, not an observed pass rate.

Three uninterrupted hours is the practical constraint. Schedule a block when you will not be on call, mid-shift, or likely to be pulled into an active case. Investigators in particular should protect this window from operational demands. For more on how the threshold works, read our guide to the CHTI passing score, and for a realistic sense of difficulty, see how hard the CHTI exam is.

Do not infer the format from the course: The advertised 13 modules and the older indexed twelve exam domains are not interchangeable, and the retrieved public text does not list all 13 module titles. Plan your readiness around the subject areas below, and treat them as preparation categories rather than an official blueprint.

Choosing a Date by Domain Readiness

Official domain weights and the largest-weighted area are unverified, so you cannot prioritize by percentage. The sensible approach is to treat all eleven preparation categories as potentially testable and choose your date when you can answer scenario-style questions across every one. These categories editorially separate subjects named in the current issuer curriculum narrative. They are unweighted and are not an official exam blueprint. See the complete guide to all 11 content areas for deeper detail.

Foundations: Trafficking Definitions, Dynamics, and Indicators

Candidates should be able to define trafficking, understand victim dynamics (trauma, coercion, dependency, fear), and identify and corroborate fragmented indicators rather than reading any single sign in isolation.

  • Distinguish indicators from proof; corroboration is the skill
  • Know how fear and dependency shape victim behavior and cooperation

Investigative Methods, Open-Source Research, and Deep-Web Awareness

This cluster covers developing leads and intelligence, using open-source research, and understanding the deep web at an awareness level.

  • Turn fragmented information into actionable leads
  • Know where open-source research supports, and where it stops short of, evidence

Victim Support, Federal Law, and Interagency Coordination

Expect applied questions on trauma-aware support, legal and resource coordination, federal law and visa provisions, and working across federal, state, and local partners on cross-jurisdictional cases.

  • Interviews must weigh victim safety and legal requirements together
  • Know how responsibilities divide across agencies

Evidence Development and Professional Reporting

Preserving digital and physical evidence and documenting findings in defensible professional reports ties the investigation together.

  • Chain-of-custody thinking applies to both digital and physical material
  • Reports must be defensible, so precision and documentation matter

Building Backward From Your Target Date

This is the one place where a study schedule belongs, and it is tied to CHTI content rather than generic advice. Sequence the domains so that foundational concepts come before the applied, scenario-heavy material, then end with integration. The example below assumes a six-week runway inside your license year; stretch or compress it to match your experience. The CHTI study guide expands on resources.

Weeks 1-2

Definitions, Dynamics, Indicators

  • Lock down terminology and victim dynamics first, since later domains assume them
  • Practice corroborating fragmented indicators across short case vignettes
Weeks 3-4

Methods, Open-Source, Deep-Web, Evidence

  • Work through lead development and evidence preservation together
  • Separate what research suggests from what evidence establishes
Week 5

Victim Support, Federal Law, Interagency Coordination

  • Rehearse scenarios that combine victim safety, legal requirements, and jurisdictional handoffs
Week 6

Reporting and Full-Length Review

  • Practice defensible documentation, then run timed sets mirroring the three-hour limit

Use timed practice at the end to test stamina across a three-hour sitting. You can build that habit with the questions on our CHTI practice test site, and a quick final refresher is available in the CHTI cheat sheet. Remember that practice-question allocation across topics is editorial, not a reflection of the real exam's distribution.

After the Exam: Renewal Planning

Your exam date also starts your renewal clock indirectly, so it is worth understanding now. The certification follows a two-year renewal cycle. A general fee of US$125 is referenced, and a Department of Defense directory entry reports 25 CPE per cycle. Because current issuer-specific CPE and fee policy should be confirmed, do not budget around those figures without checking. The course's 31 CPE are training credit, not renewal requirements.

Thinking ahead also helps career planning. If you are testing in order to move into a role, review CHTI-related jobs, and the CHTI salary guide for how earnings are discussed, keeping in mind that no specific salary figure is verified here.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does the CHTI have fixed testing windows in 2026?

The retrieved public product pages do not publish fixed national testing windows. The exam is online-proctored and tied to a one-year exam license, so your practical window is the license period. Confirm current scheduling mechanics with the issuer when you purchase.

How long do I have to take the exam after purchasing?

Both the exam-only product (US$450) and the course bundle (US$1,497) include a one-year exam license. That year is your time boundary. It is not the same as the credential's two-year renewal period.

Can I take the exam in more than one sitting?

No. The exam is a three-hour, closed-book, single-sitting assessment. Plan a protected block of time with a quiet, proctor-compliant environment and working webcam.

What score do I need to pass?

The current published final-examination passing threshold is 70%. The pass rate itself is not publicly disclosed, so do not confuse the two. See the CHTI pass rate discussion for what is and is not known.

Do I need to buy the course before scheduling the exam?

Not necessarily. Qualified applicants may self-study and purchase the exam-only option, provided they meet the eligibility routes and the exam-only audience restrictions for official investigative or intelligence roles. If your role is ambiguous, get written approval from the issuer first.

Ready to pass your CHTI exam?

Put this into practice with free CHTI questions across every exam domain.