- What You Are Actually Studying For
- Confirm Eligibility Before You Spend Anything
- What Is Verified About the Exam Format
- The Eleven Preparation Categories
- Foundations: Definitions, Dynamics, and Indicators
- Investigation Core: Methods, Open-Source Research, and the Deep Web
- Victim Support and Federal Law
- Coordination, Evidence, and Reporting
- Exam-Only or Course Bundle?
- A Domain-Ordered Study Schedule
- Exam-Day Logistics
- After You Pass: Renewal and Careers
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The CHTI is the McAfee Institute's Certified Human Trafficking Investigator credential; the exam-only product costs US$450 and includes one attempt.
- The exam is three hours, closed-book, online-proctored, with a published 70% passing threshold.
- Eligibility needs a degree plus one or two relevant years, or a high-school equivalent plus four relevant years.
- Official weights are unpublished, so study all eleven preparation categories rather than betting on one heavy domain.
What You Are Actually Studying For
The Certified Human Trafficking Investigator credential is issued by the McAfee Institute. It is a practitioner-oriented certification: the current public program narrative centers on recognizing trafficking, investigating it, supporting victims, working within federal law, and producing defensible documentation. If you are new to the credential, start with What Is CHTI Certification? for the big picture, then return here for the preparation plan.
A note on terminology: this guide covers only the Certified Human Trafficking Investigator credential. Other certifications share the same four-letter abbreviation, and facts about them do not apply here. Everything below is drawn from the issuer's current public program and exam pages, reviewed on September 29, 2026. Where the public record is silent, this guide says so rather than guessing.
Confirm Eligibility Before You Spend Anything
Eligibility is the most commonly overlooked step, and it is stricter for the exam-only route than the course marketing might suggest. The published alternatives are:
| Education Level | Relevant Experience Required |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's degree or higher | One relevant year |
| Associate degree | Two relevant years |
| High-school diploma or equivalent | Four relevant years |
The exam-only product is aimed at people with official investigative or intelligence responsibilities. It explicitly excludes several private, nonprofit, volunteer, and advocacy roles. Broader course-marketing language does not override that restriction. If your role is ambiguous, such as a private-sector investigator or a nonprofit caseworker, request written approval from the issuer before purchasing. A background and conduct policy also applies. For the full walkthrough, see CHTI Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
What Is Verified About the Exam Format
The current exam-only product confirms an online-proctored final assessment of program competencies and applied knowledge. The verified details are:
- Time limit: three hours, taken in a single sitting.
- Book policy: closed-book.
- Attempts: one attempt is included in the US$450 exam-only fee, along with proctoring and a one-year exam license.
- Passing threshold: 70% on the final examination. The course path's review quizzes also require 70%.
- Proctoring: online; identity and webcam checks apply. The issuer's general license FAQ names ProctorU and also describes automated proctoring, so confirm the current configuration when you register.
What is not verified: the exact number of questions, the mix of item types, and whether unscored items are included. The issuer's general license policy mentions approximately 200 questions and a mix of multiple-choice, true/false, and scenario items, but that is a general-license statement, not a CHTI-specific specification. Prepare for scenario-style applied questions without treating any specific count as fact. The 31 hours and 31 CPE credits advertised for the course are training quantities, not question counts or exam duration.
Three hours is a long window for a closed-book test. Whatever the item count, endurance and consistent pacing matter. For a deeper discussion of what the format implies, read How Hard Is the CHTI Exam? and CHTI Passing Score 2026. The issuer does not disclose a pass rate, which CHTI Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows addresses in detail.
The Eleven Preparation Categories
This guide organizes preparation into eleven categories, each corresponding to a subject named in the issuer's current curriculum narrative. These are unweighted preparation categories, not an official exam blueprint, and they are not the advertised thirteen course module titles. The issuer advertises 13 modules, but the retrieved public text does not list all 13 titles, and an older indexed twelve-domain list should not be treated as interchangeable with either.
- Trafficking definitions
- Trafficking dynamics
- Trafficking indicators
- Investigative methods
- Open-source research
- Deep-web awareness
- Victim support
- Federal law
- Interagency coordination
- Evidence development
- Professional reporting
For a category-by-category breakdown, see CHTI Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 11 Content Areas. The sections below translate each cluster into concrete things to master.
Foundations: Definitions, Dynamics, and Indicators
Trafficking Definitions
Every later domain assumes you can distinguish trafficking from related offenses such as smuggling and from exploitative but legally distinct situations.
- Learn the elements that make a situation trafficking rather than another offense, and be able to state them precisely.
- Practice classifying short fact patterns: which elements are present, which are missing, and what that means for how a case is described.
- Expect scenario questions where one wrong assumption about a definition derails every downstream answer.
Trafficking Dynamics
This domain covers how trafficking actually operates and why victims behave the way they do.
- Understand coercion, dependency, fear, and trauma as mechanisms of control, not as character traits of victims.
- Be able to explain why a victim might not self-identify, might return to an exploiter, or might give inconsistent accounts.
- Connect victim dynamics to investigative decisions: why approach, pacing, and safety planning matter.
Trafficking Indicators
Indicators are rarely conclusive on their own. The skill the issuer describes is identifying and corroborating fragmented indicators.
- Practice treating each indicator as a lead to corroborate, not a conclusion.
- Learn to distinguish indicators that are consistent with trafficking from those that are merely suspicious in isolation.
- Expect questions asking what you should do next when only partial indicators are present.
Investigation Core: Methods, Open-Source Research, and the Deep Web
Investigative Methods
This domain covers developing investigative leads and intelligence and structuring an inquiry.
- Understand how leads become intelligence and how intelligence is used to direct next steps.
- Know the considerations around interviews, including victim safety and legal requirements, before any contact.
- Be ready for sequencing questions: what comes first, what requires authority, what can wait.
Open-Source Research
Public-source research is a core investigative skill in this program's narrative.
- Know what categories of publicly available information can support a trafficking inquiry.
- Understand corroboration: a single online source is a lead, not proof.
- Be mindful of documentation habits, since how you record open-source findings affects their later value.
Deep-Web Awareness
The issuer frames this as awareness, so focus on understanding the environment rather than operational tradecraft.
- Understand what the deep web is, how it differs from the surface web, and why it matters to trafficking investigations.
- Know the limits and legal considerations of investigating in these spaces at a conceptual level.
Victim Support and Federal Law
Victim Support
The issuer describes trauma-aware victim support and legal and resource coordination.
- Learn what trauma-aware means in practice and how it changes interactions and timelines.
- Understand how victim support relates to, but is distinct from, the investigative objective.
- Know the categories of legal and resource referrals a victim may need.
Federal Law
The narrative specifically calls out applying federal law and visa provisions.
- Study the federal framework governing trafficking offenses and how it shapes charging and case development.
- Learn the visa-related protections and provisions that may apply to victims.
- Treat this as a precision domain: expect questions where exact terms matter. Review the official statutory language rather than relying on summaries.
Key Takeaway
Victim support and federal law are the two domains where a clean investigative instinct can still produce a wrong answer. Study the official frameworks directly, and practice applying them to short scenarios rather than memorizing definitions in isolation.
Coordination, Evidence, and Reporting
Interagency Coordination
Trafficking cases routinely cross agency and jurisdictional lines.
- Understand the roles of federal, state, and local partners and how cross-jurisdictional case development works.
- Know when and why to bring in partners, and how information sharing supports a case.
Evidence Development
The narrative emphasizes preserving both digital and physical evidence.
- Learn the principles of preservation: collection, handling, and documentation that keep evidence usable.
- Understand how evidence supports corroboration of victim accounts and indicators.
- Expect questions about what to do and what not to do when evidence is at risk of loss.
Professional Reporting
The goal is documenting findings and preparing defensible professional reports.
- Know the qualities of a defensible report: accurate, complete, objective, and traceable to sources.
- Practice distinguishing facts from inferences in written findings.
If you want a compressed refresher once you have covered these areas, CHTI Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts is a useful final-week companion.
Exam-Only or Course Bundle?
The issuer permits qualified applicants to self-study, so the course is optional. The two products differ meaningfully:
| Feature | Exam-Only | Course Bundle |
|---|---|---|
| Price | US$450 | US$1,497 |
| Includes exam attempt | One attempt | Yes, with a one-year exam license |
| Course or guide access | Not included | Lifetime learning access |
| Instruction | None | 31 hours, 31 CPE credits, 13 modules |
| Eligibility scope | Narrower, official investigative or intelligence roles | Broader marketing audience; exam eligibility still applies |
The exam-only route makes sense if you already work in a qualifying official role and have the domain knowledge. The bundle makes sense if you want structured instruction or are closer to the experience threshold and need the learning material. Neither fee guarantees a pass, and no member or nonmember fee schedule is published. The full financial picture is in CHTI Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and the value question is explored in Is the CHTI Certification Worth It?
One caution: a one-year exam license and lifetime course access are separate things, and neither establishes the credential's renewal period.
A Domain-Ordered Study Schedule
Because official weights are unpublished, this schedule gives each category its own time and sequences them logically: concepts first, then methods, then law and procedure, then integration. Adjust the length to your experience; the order is what matters. Practice questions on the main practice test site can be used throughout as scenario-style drills.
Foundations
- Definitions, dynamics, and indicators.
- Write your own one-paragraph definition of each core term from memory, then check it.
Investigation Core
- Investigative methods, open-source research, and deep-web awareness.
- Walk through a sample lead from indicator to corroborated intelligence.
Victims and Law
- Victim support and federal law, including visa provisions.
- Read official statutory language and note exact terms.
Integration
- Interagency coordination, evidence development, and professional reporting.
- Full-length timed practice across all eleven categories; revisit your weakest two.
Foundations come first because definitions and dynamics frame every scenario question later. Law comes before integration because evidence and reporting questions often assume you know what legal standard applies. In the final days, take at least one timed session that matches the three-hour closed-book condition, so the actual sitting is not your first experience of that length.
Exam-Day Logistics
The scheduling details are worth confirming in advance because the issuer's own materials describe proctoring in more than one way. A reasonable checklist:
- Confirm the current proctoring configuration and system requirements when you register.
- Prepare for identity verification and webcam checks.
- Test your equipment and connection beforehand. This is a three-hour single sitting.
- Clear your workspace. The exam is closed-book.
- Remember you have one included attempt. Do not schedule until you are consistently performing well on timed practice.
Calculator and adaptive-testing rules are unverified for this credential, so do not assume either. For scheduling specifics, see CHTI Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling. For how this fits into the broader process, this study guide pairs well with the requirements and domains articles above.
After You Pass: Renewal and Careers
The certification carries a two-year renewal cycle. The issuer's general fee is US$125, and a Department of Defense directory reports 25 CPE per cycle. Because those figures come from general and third-party references, confirm the current issuer-specific CPE and fee policy before you plan around them.
On the career side, the credential is aimed at people in official investigative and intelligence roles, which is also where the exam-only route is focused. Earnings depend heavily on employer, role, and location, and no credential-specific figure is verified here. The qualitative picture is covered in CHTI Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis, and the hiring side in CHTI Jobs. If you want more on the training pathway itself, see CHTI Training.
Frequently Asked Questions
The exam is three hours, closed-book, taken in a single online-proctored sitting. The published passing threshold for the final examination is 70%. The number of questions and the exact item-type mix are not verified for this credential.
No. Qualified applicants may self-study and purchase the exam-only product for US$450, which includes one attempt, proctoring, and a one-year exam license. It does not include course or guide access. The optional course bundle is US$1,497 and includes 31 hours of instruction and 31 CPE credits.
You need a bachelor's degree plus one relevant year, an associate degree plus two, or a high-school equivalent plus four. The exam-only product is also limited to people with official investigative or intelligence responsibilities, and several private, nonprofit, volunteer, and advocacy roles are excluded. Ambiguous roles need written approval from the issuer.
The issuer has not published official domain weights, so no single domain can be identified as the largest. Cover all eleven categories, and spend extra time on federal law and victim support, where precise knowledge is hard to improvise.
It is not publicly disclosed. The 70% figure is the passing threshold, not the proportion of candidates who pass. Treat any quoted pass rate with skepticism unless the issuer publishes it.
Preparing for the CHTI comes down to confirming you qualify, knowing exactly what the issuer has and has not published, and covering all eleven subject areas with scenario practice under timed, closed-book conditions. When you are ready to test yourself, start with the practice questions at CHTI Exam Prep.