- What the Pass Rate Data Actually Shows
- Passing Threshold vs. Pass Rate: Two Different Numbers
- Exam Mechanics That Shape Your Odds
- Eligibility as a Built-In Filter
- The Eleven Preparation Categories
- Where Candidates Are Most Likely to Lose Points
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
- Cost, Attempts, and Why the First Try Matters
- After You Pass: Renewal and Career Context
- Frequently Asked Questions
- McAfee Institute does not publicly disclose a CHTI pass rate; any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
- The published final-exam passing threshold is 70%, which is a cut score, not an observed pass rate.
- The exam-only product costs US$450 and includes one attempt, proctoring, and a one-year exam license.
- The exam is a three-hour, closed-book, online-proctored assessment of applied knowledge across trafficking investigations.
What the Pass Rate Data Actually Shows
If you searched for the Certified Human Trafficking Investigator pass rate hoping for a clean percentage, here is the honest answer: there isn't one. McAfee Institute, the certifying body, has not publicly disclosed how many candidates pass the CHTI exam on their first attempt or overall. No annual report, candidate handbook, or program page in the public record states it.
That matters because pass-rate figures circulate widely for professional certifications, and many of them are guesses, recycled numbers from unrelated credentials, or marketing claims with no methodology behind them. Several credentials share the "CHTI" acronym, and statistics attached to one are routinely pasted onto another. For the Certified Human Trafficking Investigator credential specifically, the responsible position is to say the rate is unpublished and to focus on what is known: the cut score, the format, the eligibility gates, and the content scope.
What you can do instead is reason from the structure of the exam. The sections below walk through the factors that plausibly drive outcomes: the threshold, the format, who is allowed to sit the exam, and which content areas demand the most careful preparation.
Passing Threshold vs. Pass Rate: Two Different Numbers
These two terms get confused constantly, so it is worth being precise.
| Term | What It Means | CHTI Status |
|---|---|---|
| Passing threshold (cut score) | The minimum score you must earn to pass | Published at 70% |
| Pass rate | The share of candidates who actually pass | Not publicly disclosed |
| Scored/unscored item split | How many questions count toward your score | Unknown |
| Exact question count | Number of items on your exam form | Not confirmed for this credential |
The current published final-examination passing threshold is 70%. Course-path review quizzes also require 70%. A 70% cut score tells you the bar a single candidate must clear; it says nothing about how many candidates clear it. A rigorous exam can have a modest cut score and a low pass rate, and an easy exam can have a high cut score and a high pass rate. For the full picture of how the score works, read our dedicated CHTI passing score guide.
Key Takeaway
Plan to answer roughly seven of every ten items correctly across the whole exam, but do not assume that is easy. Applied, scenario-style questions can feel harder than the same percentage on pure recall.
Exam Mechanics That Shape Your Odds
The format of an exam influences results as much as the content does. Here is what the public record confirms for the CHTI exam-only product and what remains unverified.
What is confirmed
- Delivery: an online-proctored final assessment of program competencies and applied knowledge.
- Time limit: three hours, taken in a single sitting.
- Book policy: closed-book.
- Threshold: 70%.
- Attempts: the US$450 exam-only product includes one attempt.
- License window: a one-year exam license is included.
What is not confirmed
McAfee Institute's general license policy references approximately 200 questions and a mix of multiple-choice, true/false, and scenario items, and general FAQ material names ProctorU while other material describes automated or AI proctoring. These are general-license descriptions, not authenticated Certified Human Trafficking Investigator specifications. The credential-specific question count, scored/unscored split, exact item-format mix, proctoring vendor configuration, and calculator or adaptive rules are all unverified. Confirm the current configuration with the issuer before exam day rather than relying on forum posts.
Eligibility as a Built-In Filter
One reason any published pass rate would need careful interpretation is that CHTI candidates are not a random population. The eligibility routes screen applicants before they ever see an exam question:
- A bachelor's degree or higher plus one relevant year of experience, or
- An associate degree plus two relevant years, or
- A high-school diploma or equivalent plus four relevant years.
The exam-only product is also narrower than the course marketing suggests. Its intended audience is people with official investigative or intelligence responsibilities, and it excludes multiple private, nonprofit, volunteer, and advocacy roles. If your role is ambiguous, the issuer requires written approval. A background and conduct policy also applies. Qualified applicants may self-study rather than purchase the course.
The practical consequence: people who reach the exam often already work in or near investigations, which likely shapes how they perform. Whether that raises or lowers the pass rate is unknowable without data, but it is a reason not to compare CHTI outcomes to open-enrollment exams. Check the full prerequisites in our CHTI requirements guide before you pay for anything.
The Eleven Preparation Categories
McAfee Institute advertises 31 instructional hours and 13 course modules, but the complete list of module titles is not disclosed in the retrieved public text, and the old indexed twelve-domain list is not interchangeable with the current program. For that reason, our preparation framework uses eleven editorial categories drawn from subjects explicitly named in the current issuer curriculum narrative. These are unweighted study categories, not an official exam blueprint. Official weights remain unverified, and the largest-weighted area is unknown. For a deeper look, see our complete guide to all 11 content areas.
| # | Category | Core Focus |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Trafficking definitions | Legal and operational meaning of trafficking |
| 2 | Trafficking dynamics | Coercion, dependency, fear, trauma |
| 3 | Trafficking indicators | Identifying and corroborating fragmented signs |
| 4 | Investigative methods | Developing leads and intelligence |
| 5 | Open-source research | Lawful public-information collection |
| 6 | Deep-web awareness | Understanding hidden online environments |
| 7 | Victim support | Trauma-aware support and resource coordination |
| 8 | Federal law | Federal statutes and visa provisions |
| 9 | Interagency coordination | Federal, state, local, cross-jurisdiction work |
| 10 | Evidence development | Preserving digital and physical evidence |
| 11 | Professional reporting | Defensible documentation and reports |
Where Candidates Are Most Likely to Lose Points
Without a published blueprint or item-level statistics, we cannot name the "hardest" domain with authority. What we can do is identify where the nature of the material creates predictable risk, based on what the curriculum narrative says candidates must be able to do.
Indicators and Dynamics (Domains 2 and 3)
The curriculum emphasizes identifying and corroborating fragmented indicators and understanding victim dynamics. Applied questions in this area tend to present a messy scenario rather than a clean definition.
- Distinguish a single indicator from a corroborated pattern
- Understand why victims may not self-identify: coercion, dependency, fear, and trauma
- Recognize that absence of physical restraint does not rule out trafficking
Federal Law (Domain 8)
Precision matters here. The scope includes federal law and visa provisions, so expect questions where small wording differences change the correct answer.
- Know the federal framework at the level of applied investigation, not just definitions
- Understand how visa provisions interact with victim protection and cooperation
- Be able to match a fact pattern to the appropriate legal concept
Evidence Development and Reporting (Domains 10 and 11)
These areas reward procedural discipline: preserving digital and physical evidence, considering interviews alongside victim safety and legal requirements, and producing defensible reports.
- Think in terms of preservation and chain of custody before analysis
- Weigh victim safety against investigative convenience when both appear in a scenario
- Know what makes a report defensible: accuracy, documentation, and clarity
Open-Source and Deep-Web Awareness (Domains 5 and 6)
Note the wording: the scope names open-source research and deep-web awareness. That distinction suggests different expectations for each, and candidates should not over-prepare operational technique while neglecting conceptual understanding.
- Focus on lawful, documented collection methods
- Understand what the deep web is and why it matters to trafficking investigations
Because the exam tests applied knowledge in a closed-book, timed setting, scenario fluency matters more than memorizing lists. Our CHTI study guide covers how to build that fluency, and the CHTI cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts for last-pass review.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
Generic study routines matter less than ordering the material so each domain builds on the last. Here is one sequence tied to CHTI content, using the editorial categories above. This is a suggested framework, not an official plan, and you should adjust it to your background.
Foundations: Definitions, Dynamics, Indicators
- Learn definitions first, since every later domain depends on them
- Study victim dynamics before indicators so the signs make sense in context
- Practice corroborating fragmented indicators from short scenarios
Investigative Methods and Research
- Cover investigative methods, lead development, and intelligence
- Add open-source research, then deep-web awareness
- Tie each method back to the indicators from Week 1
Law, Victims, and Coordination
- Spend focused time on federal law and visa provisions
- Study trauma-aware victim support and resource coordination
- Review interagency and cross-jurisdictional case development
Evidence, Reporting, and Integration
- Work through evidence preservation and professional reporting
- Take timed mixed-domain practice to simulate the three-hour sitting
- Revisit your weakest category using our CHTI practice tests
Law goes in Week 3 rather than Week 1 because legal concepts stick better once you understand the fact patterns they apply to. Evidence and reporting come last because they synthesize everything before them.
Cost, Attempts, and Why the First Try Matters
Since the pass rate is unpublished, the most useful thing to understand is the cost structure around an attempt.
| Option | Price | What's Included |
|---|---|---|
| Exam-only | US$450 | One attempt, proctoring, one-year exam license; no course or guide access |
| Course bundle | US$1,497 | 31 hours and 31 CPE, lifetime learning access, one-year exam license |
No member versus nonmember fee schedule is published. The 31 hours and 31 CPE figures describe training quantities, not exam duration or question count. Lifetime course access and the one-year exam license also do not establish the credential's renewal period.
The exam-only route suits candidates who qualify, already work in an official investigative or intelligence role, and are comfortable self-studying. The bundle suits those who want structured instruction. Whether the investment pays off depends on your career goals; our ROI analysis weighs that question.
After You Pass: Renewal and Career Context
Certification is a two-year cycle. The general license fee is listed at US$125, and a Department of Defense directory reports 25 CPE per cycle. Confirm the current issuer-specific CPE and fee policy directly, since the general figures may not map one-to-one to this credential.
On the career side, the CHTI is aimed at people with official investigative or intelligence responsibilities, so relevant employers include law enforcement and investigative agencies, plus other organizations where trafficking casework sits within an official role. We do not publish salary figures here because none are verifiable for this specific credential. For earnings context and role types, see our salary guide and CHTI jobs overview. If you are still orienting yourself, start with what CHTI certification is.
Frequently Asked Questions
McAfee Institute has not publicly disclosed a Certified Human Trafficking Investigator pass rate. The 70% figure often mentioned is the passing threshold, which is the score you need, not the percentage of candidates who pass.
The current published final-examination threshold is 70%. Course-path review quizzes also require 70%. See the passing score guide for details.
It is a three-hour, closed-book, online-proctored exam taken in a single sitting. The exact question count and item-format mix for this credential are not confirmed in current public product pages, so verify with the issuer.
The US$450 exam-only product includes one attempt. Retake terms are not described in the retrieved public pages, so confirm current policy with McAfee Institute before purchasing.
No. You must meet one of three experience-and-education routes, and the exam-only product is restricted to official investigative or intelligence roles. Ambiguous private or nonprofit roles require written approval. Review the requirements guide before applying.