- What the Certified Human Trafficking Investigator Credential Is
- The Three Eligibility Routes
- Exam-Only Path vs. Course Path
- Who Counts as Having an Investigative Role
- Background and Conduct Policy
- What You Qualify to Sit: Format and Proctoring
- The Content You Are Qualifying For
- A Qualification Plan Tied to the Content
- Staying Qualified: Renewal Basics
- Frequently Asked Questions
- There are three eligibility routes: bachelor's plus one relevant year, associate plus two, or high-school equivalent plus four.
- The exam-only product costs US$450 and includes one attempt, proctoring, and a one-year exam license.
- The exam-only product's audience is narrower than course marketing: it targets official investigative or intelligence responsibilities.
- The final exam is three hours, closed-book, single-sitting, with a 70% passing threshold.
What the Certified Human Trafficking Investigator Credential Is
The Certified Human Trafficking Investigator credential is issued by the McAfee Institute. This article is about that credential and no other. The acronym is shared by several unrelated certifications, so when you research fees, dates, or requirements, make sure the page you are reading names the Certified Human Trafficking Investigator program and the McAfee Institute. If it does not, close the tab.
Unlike many professional certifications that gate entry behind a single rigid prerequisite, this one uses a tiered experience model: more formal education reduces the number of years of relevant experience you need. That design matters if you are weighing whether you qualify now or need another year or two in the field. For a broader orientation before you dig into eligibility, see What Is CHTI Certification? and What Is CHTI?.
The Three Eligibility Routes
Current eligibility is built around a combination of education and relevant professional experience. The issuer publishes three alternatives:
| Education Level | Relevant Experience Required |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's degree or higher | One relevant year |
| Associate degree | Two relevant years |
| High school diploma or equivalent | Four relevant years |
The word that carries the weight in all three routes is relevant. The published alternatives do not spell out exactly which job titles or duties count, so a candidate with a degree but experience only loosely adjacent to trafficking casework should not assume it will be accepted. If your background sits near the boundary, ask the issuer in writing before paying.
Choosing the route that fits you
- Degree holders have the shortest experience requirement, but the single year still has to be relevant. A criminal justice degree with no investigative work may not satisfy it on its own.
- Associate-degree holders need two relevant years, which often fits patrol, intake, or analyst-support careers.
- High-school-equivalent candidates need four relevant years, which typically means a long record in law enforcement support, security investigations, or similar duty.
Exam-Only Path vs. Course Path
Qualified applicants may self-study and take the exam directly, or they can buy the optional course bundle. The two products differ in more than price:
| Feature | Exam-Only | Course Bundle |
|---|---|---|
| Price | US$450 | US$1,497 |
| Exam attempt | One attempt included | Exam license included (one year) |
| Proctoring | Included | Included |
| Course and study guide access | Not included | Lifetime learning access |
| Instruction | None | 31 hours, 31 CPE, 13 modules |
Two cautions. First, the 31 hours and 31 CPE are training quantities, not an exam duration or question count. Second, a one-year exam license and lifetime course access do not tell you how long the credential itself lasts once earned; that is a separate renewal matter covered below. A full cost comparison, including renewal, is in CHTI Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Key Takeaway
Choose exam-only if you already have field experience across investigations, victim handling, and federal law. Choose the course if you have gaps in any of those areas and want structured instruction. Either way, the same eligibility routes apply.
Who Counts as Having an Investigative Role
This is the part of the requirements most likely to trip people up. The exam-only product is restricted to candidates with official investigative or intelligence responsibilities, and its terms exclude multiple private, nonprofit, volunteer, and advocacy roles. Broader marketing for the course describes a wider potential audience, but that marketing does not override the exam-only restriction.
In practice, that means:
- A sworn or civilian investigator, analyst, or intelligence professional in an official capacity is the clearest fit for the exam-only product.
- A private-sector fraud, security, or corporate investigator, a nonprofit case worker, a volunteer, or an advocate may fall outside the exam-only audience, even if their day-to-day work is closely related to trafficking.
- Ambiguous situations, such as a contractor embedded with an agency, a private investigator working task-force referrals, or a nonprofit staff member with formal law-enforcement liaison duties, require written approval from the issuer.
If your role falls outside the official-investigative category, the course path may still be open to you, but confirm that directly rather than inferring it from marketing language. For the career angle, see CHTI Jobs for the kinds of roles the credential supports.
Background and Conduct Policy
A background and conduct policy applies to certification holders and applicants. The practical takeaway: eligibility is not purely about degrees and years served. Conduct standards sit alongside the education-and-experience routes, and issues in your history could affect certification.
Whether references are required, and how many, is not something I can confirm from the public materials, so check the current application requirements rather than assuming a number. If a reference is required, choose supervisors or colleagues who can speak specifically to your investigative work and professional conduct.
What You Qualify to Sit: Format and Proctoring
Once eligibility is settled, here is what the assessment looks like based on the current exam-only product:
- Delivery: online-proctored final assessment of program competencies and applied knowledge.
- Time limit: three hours, closed-book, in a single sitting.
- Passing threshold: 70%. The course path's review quizzes also require 70%.
- Identity checks: identity and webcam verification apply.
- Proctoring setup: the issuer's general materials mention both a live-proctoring vendor and automated proctoring. Confirm which configuration applies to your sitting before exam day.
The issuer's general license policy refers to approximately 200 questions and a mix of multiple-choice, true/false, and scenario items. That language is general rather than credential-specific, so do not treat it as an official count for this exam. The exact question count, scored versus unscored split, and item-format mix for this credential are not confirmed. Whether a calculator is permitted or the exam adapts to your answers is also unverified. Plan for three hours of sustained concentration and verify the details when you register.
The 70% figure is the passing threshold, not an observed pass rate. The pass rate is not publicly disclosed. For discussion of what that means for your preparation, read CHTI Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass and CHTI Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows. For scheduling, see CHTI Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
The Content You Are Qualifying For
Eligibility gets you to the door; the content decides whether you walk through it. The issuer's current curriculum narrative covers trafficking definitions, dynamics, and indicators; investigative methods; open-source research; deep-web awareness; victim support; federal law; interagency coordination; evidence development; and professional reporting.
Our preparation categories below are editorial groupings drawn from that narrative. They are unweighted and are not an official exam blueprint, and they do not map one-to-one onto the issuer's 13 advertised course modules, whose full titles are not publicly disclosed. The complete official domain list and weights are unverified, so do not assume any one area dominates. The full breakdown lives in CHTI Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 11 Content Areas.
Trafficking Definitions, Dynamics, and Indicators
Three of our eleven preparation categories sit here, and they form the foundation for everything else.
- Identify and corroborate fragmented trafficking indicators rather than relying on any single sign.
- Understand victim dynamics: trauma, coercion, dependency, and fear, and how they shape behavior and cooperation.
- Distinguish the legal definitions from everyday usage of the term.
Investigative Methods, Open-Source Research, and Deep-Web Awareness
Developing leads and intelligence from public and less-visible sources.
- Build investigative leads and intelligence from fragmentary information.
- Apply open-source research techniques methodically and document your process.
- Understand deep-web awareness at the level of concept and risk, not as a tooling exercise.
Victim Support
Trauma-aware practice is part of the investigator's role, not a separate discipline.
- Provide trauma-aware support and coordinate legal and resource referrals.
- Consider interview approach, victim safety, and legal requirements together.
Federal Law and Interagency Coordination
Legal frameworks and partnerships determine what a case can become.
- Apply federal law and visa provisions relevant to trafficking cases.
- Coordinate federal, state, and local partners and manage cross-jurisdictional case development.
Evidence Development and Professional Reporting
Where investigative work becomes defensible.
- Preserve digital and physical evidence with attention to handling and documentation.
- Document findings and prepare defensible professional reports.
Because the exam includes applied-knowledge assessment, expect to reason through scenarios rather than only recall definitions. For a prep-oriented walkthrough, use the CHTI Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and for a quick fact refresher near exam day, see the CHTI Cheat Sheet 2026.
A Qualification Plan Tied to the Content
If you have not yet met the experience requirement, or you meet it and want to prepare efficiently, this sequence connects the requirements to the material. It is a sample layout, not a mandated schedule.
Confirm eligibility and role fit
- Match your education and years of experience to one of the three routes.
- Request written approval if your role is private, nonprofit, or otherwise ambiguous.
Foundations: definitions, dynamics, indicators
- These ideas underpin victim-centered reasoning in every later topic, so learn them first.
Methods, open-source research, deep-web awareness
- Practice turning scattered facts into documented leads.
Law, coordination, evidence, and reporting
- Pair federal law and interagency work with evidence handling and report writing, since they connect in real cases.
Timed practice
- Rehearse a full three-hour closed-book sitting; try our CHTI practice tests to simulate the pressure.
Wondering whether this level of effort is proportionate? How Hard Is the CHTI Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 covers difficulty in depth, and Is the CHTI Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 helps you decide whether the investment fits your career. For earnings context, see CHTI Salary Guide 2026. If you want hands-on exposure to scenario-style questions, our practice test site is built for that.
Staying Qualified: Renewal Basics
Earning the credential is not the end of the requirements story. The certification renews on a two-year cycle. General fee references point to US$125, and Department of Defense directory reporting lists 25 CPE per cycle. Treat those as reference points and confirm the current issuer-specific CPE requirement and renewal fee directly, since the course's 31 CPE are a training quantity and not a renewal rule.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. A high school diploma or equivalent plus four relevant years of experience is one of the three published routes. A degree simply reduces the experience required: one year with a bachelor's or higher, two years with an associate degree.
Yes, if you are eligible. The US$450 exam-only product includes one attempt, proctoring, and a one-year exam license, but not course or study-guide access. The course bundle is US$1,497.
Not automatically. The exam-only product is aimed at official investigative or intelligence responsibilities and excludes multiple private, nonprofit, volunteer, and advocacy roles. If your role is ambiguous, obtain written approval from the issuer first.
The passing threshold is 70% on a three-hour, closed-book, single-sitting exam. A credential-specific question count and scored/unscored split are not confirmed; general license materials mention roughly 200 questions, but that is not an authenticated figure for this exam.
Certification renews on a two-year cycle. The exam license (one year) and course access (lifetime) do not determine this. Confirm the current renewal fee and CPE requirement with the issuer before your cycle ends.