- What the Certified Human Trafficking Investigator Credential Is
- Who Qualifies to Sit the Exam
- Exam Format and What Is Confirmed
- Cost and Registration Routes
- The Eleven Preparation Areas
- Where Candidates Tend to Get Stuck
- A CHTI-Specific Study Sequence
- Who Uses This Credential
- Renewal and Keeping the Credential Active
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CHTI here means Certified Human Trafficking Investigator, issued through McAfee Institute and assessed in a three-hour, closed-book, online-proctored exam.
- The published passing threshold is 70%; the pass rate itself is not publicly disclosed.
- Exam-only costs US$450 with one attempt; the course bundle costs US$1,497 and includes 31 hours of training.
- Eligibility runs on three routes: bachelor's plus one year, associate plus two, or high-school equivalent plus four.
What the Certified Human Trafficking Investigator Credential Is
The Certified Human Trafficking Investigator credential is offered by McAfee Institute and aimed at people who work trafficking cases from the investigative side. The program's public curriculum narrative covers trafficking definitions, dynamics and indicators, investigative methods, open-source research, deep-web awareness, victim support, federal law, interagency coordination, evidence development, and professional reporting. That is a practitioner's scope: it is less about memorizing statutes in isolation and more about how a case is recognized, built, documented, and handed across agencies.
If you are still orienting yourself on the basics, these short explainers cover the terminology: What Is CHTI Certification? and What Does CHTI Stand For? This article focuses on the credential from a candidate's point of view: who can sit it, what the exam looks like, what the content covers, and how to sequence your preparation.
Who Qualifies to Sit the Exam
The exam requires a combination of education and relevant experience. Three alternative routes are published:
| Education Level | Relevant Experience Required |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's degree or higher | One relevant year |
| Associate degree | Two relevant years |
| High school or equivalent | Four relevant years |
The exam-only product adds a narrower audience statement: it is intended for people with official investigative or intelligence responsibilities, and it excludes several private, nonprofit, volunteer, and advocacy roles. Broader marketing language on the course side does not override that restriction. If your role sits in a gray area, such as a private-sector investigator or a nonprofit case worker, the program indicates that written approval is needed, so get that confirmation before paying for the exam. A background and conduct policy also applies. For a fuller walk-through, see CHTI Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Exam Format and What Is Confirmed
The confirmed facts are straightforward. The final assessment is online-proctored, closed-book, taken in a single sitting, and limited to three hours. The published final passing threshold is 70%. Course-path review quizzes also carry a 70% requirement.
Several details are not confirmed for this specific credential, and it is better to say so than to guess:
- Question count: General license policy language from the issuer refers to approximately 200 questions, but that is not an authenticated credential-specific number. Do not plan around it as a fixed figure.
- Item formats: General policy mentions multiple-choice, true/false, and scenario-style items. Treat scenarios as likely, but the exact mix is unverified.
- Scored versus unscored items: Unknown.
- Proctoring configuration: Online proctoring is confirmed; the specific vendor or automated/AI configuration should be verified at registration.
- Domain weights and blueprint year: Official weights are not verified, and no complete weighted blueprint was available in public sources.
The practical consequence is that you cannot do blueprint-driven studying where you over-invest in a known heavy domain. You have to prepare broadly. For a deeper look at what these gaps mean for difficulty, read How Hard Is the CHTI Exam? and CHTI Passing Score: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Key Takeaway
A 70% threshold at a three-hour sitting rewards steady coverage over specialization. Because weights are unpublished, a weak area you skip could cost you more than you expect. Use the 70% figure as a score target, not as permission to ignore an entire domain.
Cost and Registration Routes
There are two ways in, and they differ in more than price.
| Route | Price | What It Includes |
|---|---|---|
| Exam-only | US$450 | One exam attempt, proctoring, and a one-year exam license; does not include course or guide access |
| Course bundle | US$1,497 | 31 hours of training with 31 CPE credits, lifetime learning access, and a one-year exam license |
Two clarifications prevent common misreadings. First, the 31 hours and 31 CPE figures describe training quantity. They are not the exam duration and not a question count. Second, a one-year exam license and lifetime course access do not establish the credential's renewal period; renewal is a separate matter covered below. No member versus nonmember fee schedule is published.
Qualified applicants may self-study and take the exam-only route. That makes the decision a tradeoff: the exam-only route is cheaper but leaves you responsible for assembling your own preparation, while the bundle gives you structured instruction across the 13 advertised modules. Note that the 13 course modules and the 11 preparation areas used in this article are not interchangeable, and the complete module title list is not disclosed in public sources. For full pricing context, see CHTI Certification Cost: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and for timing and scheduling, CHTI Exam Dates: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
The Eleven Preparation Areas
The eleven areas below are an editorial grouping of subjects explicitly named in the issuer's current curriculum narrative. They are unweighted preparation categories, not an official exam blueprint, and they are not the advertised thirteen module titles. Treat them as a checklist for coverage. The companion piece CHTI Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 11 Content Areas goes deeper on each.
Domain 1: Trafficking Definitions
The vocabulary that every later domain depends on. Expect scenario items that turn on whether facts meet a definition.
- Distinguishing trafficking from related conduct such as smuggling
- Understanding the role of coercion in how trafficking is defined
- Applying definitions to a described fact pattern rather than reciting them
Domain 2: Trafficking Dynamics
How trafficking operates in practice, with emphasis on the relationship between victim and trafficker.
- Victim dynamics, trauma, coercion, dependency, and fear
- Why victims may not self-identify or cooperate
- How control is maintained without physical restraint
Domain 3: Trafficking Indicators
Recognizing patterns that are often fragmented across records, locations, and agencies.
- Identifying and corroborating fragmented indicators
- Separating suggestive signals from confirmed facts
- Knowing when an indicator justifies opening an inquiry
Domain 4: Investigative Methods
The structure of building a trafficking case from an initial lead.
- Developing investigative leads and intelligence
- Considering interviews alongside victim safety and legal requirements
- Sequencing steps so that victim welfare and case integrity both hold
Domain 5: Open-Source Research
Using publicly available information lawfully and defensibly.
- Locating and corroborating publicly available information
- Documenting sources so findings can be defended later
- Recognizing the limits of what public data can prove
Domain 6: Deep-Web Awareness
A conceptual domain. The curriculum emphasizes awareness, so focus on understanding the landscape and its investigative implications rather than technical tool operation.
Domain 7: Victim Support
Trauma-aware practice and coordination of legal and community resources.
- Trauma-aware victim support
- Legal and resource coordination
- How support decisions interact with investigative needs
Domain 8: Federal Law
The statutory framework that shapes what an investigation can pursue.
- Applying federal law and visa provisions
- Connecting statutory elements to the facts you can document
Domain 9: Interagency Coordination
Trafficking cases routinely cross agency and jurisdictional lines.
- Coordinating federal, state, and local partners
- Cross-jurisdictional case development
Domain 10: Evidence Development
Turning information into material that can support a case.
- Preserving digital and physical evidence
- Maintaining integrity from collection onward
Domain 11: Professional Reporting
The output of the whole process.
- Documenting findings clearly
- Preparing defensible professional reports
Where Candidates Tend to Get Stuck
The structure of this curriculum suggests a few predictable friction points. These are reasoned from the content, not from published performance data, since no pass-rate or item-level statistics are public. See CHTI Pass Rate: What the Data Shows for what is and is not known.
Victim-centered and investigation-centered priorities colliding
Several areas ask you to weigh victim safety and trauma-aware practice against investigative needs such as interviews and evidence collection. Scenario items in this space reward answers that protect the victim while preserving the integrity of the case. If you come from a purely enforcement background, spend extra time on Domains 2 and 7. If you come from a victim services background, spend extra time on Domains 4, 10, and 11.
Cross-domain scenarios
A single scenario can touch definitions, indicators, federal law, and coordination at once. Practicing each domain only in isolation leaves a gap. When you review, ask which other domains a given scenario would draw on.
Awareness domains versus operational domains
Deep-web awareness is framed around awareness, while evidence development and professional reporting are operational. Do not over-study the technical side of the former at the expense of the latter, and do not assume the latter is just paperwork. Defensible reports and preserved evidence are the point where cases succeed or fail.
A CHTI-Specific Study Sequence
Rather than a generic schedule, here is a sequence built around how the eleven areas depend on each other. Definitions and dynamics come first because every later domain assumes them. Law and evidence come in the middle because they constrain methods. Reporting comes last because it synthesizes the rest. Adjust the length to your experience; the full approach is in the CHTI Study Guide: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.
Foundations: Domains 1-3
- Master definitions until you can apply them to a fact pattern
- Study victim dynamics, coercion, dependency, and fear
- Practice corroborating fragmented indicators
Methods and Research: Domains 4-6
- Walk through lead development and intelligence handling
- Review interview considerations alongside victim safety
- Learn the scope and limits of open-source and deep-web awareness
Support, Law, and Coordination: Domains 7-9
- Review trauma-aware support and resource coordination
- Connect federal law and visa provisions to case facts
- Map how federal, state, and local partners share responsibility
Evidence, Reporting, and Integration: Domains 10-11
- Review preservation of digital and physical evidence
- Practice structuring a defensible report
- Run mixed scenarios that cross several domains
Because the exam is closed-book and timed at three hours, finish with full-length timed practice to build pacing. A quick-reference summary helps with final review: CHTI Cheat Sheet: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts. You can also test your recall against scenario-style questions on the CHTI practice test site.
Key Takeaway
Order your study by dependency, not by interest. Definitions and dynamics underpin everything else, and reporting only makes sense once you understand evidence and law. A candidate who learns in that order tends to find cross-domain scenarios far less jarring.
Who Uses This Credential
The exam-only product describes its intended audience as people with official investigative or intelligence responsibilities. That points toward law enforcement, intelligence, and similar investigative functions as the core audience, with the curriculum's emphasis on federal, state, and local coordination reinforcing that picture. The exam-only restrictions are narrower than some course marketing, so a role that benefits from the training may still fall outside the exam-only audience.
On earnings and job outcomes, no credential-specific salary data is cited here, and any dollar figure you see attached to this credential should be checked against its source before you rely on it. For discussion of how to think about outcomes, see CHTI Jobs, CHTI Salary Guide: Complete Earnings Analysis, and Is the CHTI Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis. If your goal is a role change, weigh the credential against the experience requirement you must already meet, because the eligibility routes assume you have relevant time in the field.
Renewal and Keeping the Credential Active
The certification renews on a two-year cycle. The general license fee is US$125, and a Department of Defense directory reports 25 CPE per cycle. Treat both as reference points rather than final policy: confirm the current issuer-specific CPE requirement and renewal fee directly with the issuer before you plan around them. Remember that the one-year exam license and lifetime course access are separate from renewal and do not define it.
The course's 31 CPE credits give some sense of scale for continuing education, but they do not substitute for confirming what counts toward renewal. Keep records of any training you complete so you can document it when the cycle comes due.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified Human Trafficking Investigator, a credential offered through McAfee Institute. Other credentials share the acronym, so confirm you are reading material about this specific certification before relying on fees, dates, or pass-rate claims.
The exam is three hours, closed-book, taken in a single online-proctored sitting. The published final passing threshold is 70%. The pass rate is not publicly disclosed, and the exact question count is not confirmed for this credential.
No. Qualified applicants may self-study and purchase the exam-only product for US$450, which includes one attempt, proctoring, and a one-year exam license. The course bundle at US$1,497 adds 31 hours of training and lifetime learning access, but it is optional.
Eligibility routes are a bachelor's degree plus one relevant year, an associate degree plus two, or a high school equivalent plus four. The exam-only product is aimed at official investigative or intelligence roles, and ambiguous private or nonprofit roles need written approval from the issuer.
Official weights are not verified in the public sources reviewed. The eleven areas in this article are an unweighted editorial preparation grouping, not an official blueprint, so prepare evenly rather than assuming one domain dominates the exam.
If you are ready to test your recall, the CHTI Exam Prep practice tests let you rehearse scenario-style questions across all eleven areas before you commit to a sitting.