- The Short Answer: Certified Human Trafficking Investigator
- Why the Acronym Needs Clarifying
- What the Credential Covers
- The Eleven Preparation Categories
- Who Qualifies to Sit for It
- Exam Mechanics: Format, Fees and Proctoring
- Training Bundle Versus Exam-Only Route
- Where the Credential Fits in Real Work
- Keeping the Credential Active
- A Domain-Ordered Start
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CHTI stands for Certified Human Trafficking Investigator, a credential issued through McAfee Institute.
- The exam-only product costs US$450 and includes one online-proctored attempt plus a one-year exam license.
- The published final-exam passing threshold is 70%, and the exam is three hours long.
- Eligibility combines education and experience: bachelor's plus one year, associate plus two, or high-school equivalent plus four.
The Short Answer: Certified Human Trafficking Investigator
CHTI stands for Certified Human Trafficking Investigator. It is a professional credential offered by McAfee Institute for people who investigate, support, or coordinate cases involving human trafficking. The three words in the name each carry weight: Certified signals a formal assessment and an ongoing license, Human Trafficking defines the subject matter, and Investigator frames the skill set around developing leads, preserving evidence, and building cases that survive legal scrutiny.
If you are looking for a broader orientation, our explainers on what CHTI is and what CHTI certification involves go deeper on the program itself. This article stays focused on the expansion of the acronym, what each word implies for the exam, and what that means for your preparation.
Why the Acronym Needs Clarifying
Four-letter acronyms get reused constantly across professional fields. A search for the letters alone can surface unrelated certifications, unrelated organizations, and unrelated exams, each with its own fee schedule, eligibility rules and content outline. That makes it risky to rely on a quick search and assume that the first number you find applies to your goal.
The practical advice is simple: always anchor your research to the full name, Certified Human Trafficking Investigator, and to the issuer, McAfee Institute. When a source gives you an exam price, a duration, or a question count, check whether it names this credential and this issuer. If it does not, treat the figure as unverified for CHTI purposes.
This matters even within the issuer's own materials. General license policies on the site describe broad exam practices that apply across several programs, and some of those general statements (such as approximate question counts or named proctoring vendors) are not authenticated as CHTI-specific specifications. We flag those distinctions where they come up below.
You will also find overlapping pages on this site covering the same naming question from different angles, including what CHTI means, CHTI meaning, and what a CHTI is. They agree on the core answer; each adds its own context.
What the Credential Covers
The credential's public curriculum narrative describes a scope that moves from understanding the crime to documenting the case. In summary, it includes trafficking definitions, dynamics and indicators; investigative methods; open-source research; deep-web awareness; victim support; federal law; interagency coordination; evidence development; and professional reporting.
That sequence mirrors how a real investigation unfolds. You start by recognizing what trafficking is and how it presents in the field, then you build leads, work sources, protect victims, apply the correct legal framework, coordinate with partners, preserve evidence, and finally write findings that a prosecutor or supervisor can rely on.
Several preparation themes recur in the public descriptions:
- Identifying and corroborating fragmented trafficking indicators rather than waiting for a single obvious sign.
- Understanding victim dynamics, including trauma, coercion, dependency and fear.
- Developing investigative leads and intelligence.
- Preserving digital and physical evidence.
- Weighing interviews, victim safety and legal requirements together.
- Providing trauma-aware victim support and coordinating legal and resource referrals.
- Applying federal law and visa provisions.
- Coordinating federal, state and local partners across jurisdictions.
- Documenting findings and preparing defensible professional reports.
The Eleven Preparation Categories
This site organizes CHTI preparation into eleven categories drawn from subjects explicitly named in the current issuer curriculum narrative. They are unweighted preparation categories, not an official exam blueprint, and they do not map one-to-one onto the advertised thirteen course modules. The issuer's public text does not disclose a complete list of module titles, and official domain weights have not been verified, so we make no claims about which area carries the most exam weight. For a deeper walkthrough, see CHTI Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 11 Content Areas.
Domains 1-3: Definitions, Dynamics and Indicators
This foundation block covers what legally and operationally counts as trafficking, how victims are controlled, and what signals investigators should look for.
- Distinguish trafficking from related offenses such as smuggling and exploitation without trafficking elements.
- Recognize how coercion, dependency, debt and fear keep victims from self-identifying.
- Practice corroborating small, fragmented indicators into a coherent picture.
Domains 4-6: Investigative Methods, Open-Source Research and Deep-Web Awareness
These areas address how leads are developed and how digital environments are understood.
- Understand how investigative methods connect to intelligence development.
- Know what open-source research can and cannot establish.
- Build awareness of deep-web environments as a concept, including why they matter to trafficking cases.
Domains 7-9: Victim Support, Federal Law and Interagency Coordination
This cluster blends the human and legal dimensions of a case.
- Apply trauma-aware approaches to victim safety, interviews and resource coordination.
- Understand federal law and visa provisions relevant to trafficking victims.
- Know how federal, state and local partners share responsibility in cross-jurisdictional cases.
Domains 10-11: Evidence Development and Professional Reporting
The closing block is about producing material that stands up to review.
- Preserve digital and physical evidence in ways that protect its integrity.
- Document findings clearly and prepare defensible professional reports.
Because the blueprint is not publicly weighted, resist the temptation to over-invest in whichever category feels most interesting. Spread your effort, then use practice results to find your personal weak spots. Our CHTI Study Guide shows how to turn that into a plan.
Who Qualifies to Sit for It
The word Certified in the name is backed by eligibility requirements. Current exam eligibility alternatives combine education with relevant experience:
| Education Level | Relevant Experience Required |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's degree or higher | One relevant year |
| Associate degree | Two relevant years |
| High-school diploma or equivalent | Four relevant years |
There is an important nuance for people considering the exam-only route. That product restricts its intended audience to people with official investigative or intelligence responsibilities, and it excludes several private, nonprofit, volunteer and advocacy roles. Broader marketing language on the course page does not override that restriction. If your role sits in a gray area, such as a private-sector investigator or nonprofit case worker, get written confirmation from the issuer before purchasing. A background and conduct policy also applies, though the number of references required has not been verified.
Key Takeaway
Check eligibility before you pay. The exam-only product is narrower than the course marketing suggests, and ambiguous roles require issuer confirmation in writing. Our CHTI Requirements guide walks through the qualification paths in more detail.
Exam Mechanics: Format, Fees and Proctoring
The current CHTI exam-only product describes an online-proctored final assessment of program competencies and applied knowledge. Here is what the public product records support, and what they leave unconfirmed.
| Item | What the Sources Support |
|---|---|
| Exam-only price | US$450, including one attempt, proctoring and a one-year exam license (not course or study-guide access) |
| Time limit | Three hours, closed-book, single sitting |
| Passing threshold | 70% on the final examination |
| Proctoring | Online proctored; identity and webcam checks apply; confirm the current proctoring configuration |
| Question count | Not verified for CHTI specifically; a general license policy mentions approximately 200 questions, which is not an authenticated CHTI figure |
| Item formats | General policy mentions multiple-choice, true/false and scenario items; CHTI-specific mix unverified |
| Scored vs. unscored items | Unknown |
| Published pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
Two cautions deserve emphasis. First, the 70% figure is a passing threshold, not an observed pass rate; the two are easily confused. Our pages on the CHTI passing score and the CHTI pass rate explain that distinction. Second, the training quantities of 31 hours and 31 CPE credits describe the course, not the exam; they say nothing about question count or exam duration.
For a full cost picture, including renewal, see the CHTI Certification Cost breakdown. For scheduling, see CHTI Exam Dates.
Training Bundle Versus Exam-Only Route
Candidates generally choose between two paths, and the name Certified Human Trafficking Investigator applies to both outcomes.
| Feature | Course Bundle | Exam-Only |
|---|---|---|
| Price | US$1,497 | US$450 |
| Instruction | 31 hours, 31 CPE, 13 modules advertised, lifetime learning access | None included; qualified applicants may self-study |
| Exam license | One year | One year |
| Audience | Broader marketing audience | Restricted to official investigative or intelligence responsibilities |
| Review quizzes | Course-path review quizzes also require 70% | Not applicable |
The course path suits people who want structured instruction and are comfortable with the higher price. The exam-only path suits experienced investigators who already work in the subject matter and qualify under the narrower audience rules. Either way, a one-year exam license and lifetime course access do not establish how long the credential itself lasts; that is governed by the renewal policy covered below.
If you are still deciding whether the investment makes sense, our ROI analysis and the overview of CHTI training options can help.
Where the Credential Fits in Real Work
The name tells you the intended user: an investigator, or someone working alongside investigators. The curriculum's emphasis on federal law, interagency coordination and defensible reporting points to environments where cases cross jurisdictions and where documentation must withstand review. Those include law enforcement and intelligence functions, and eligibility language that references official investigative and intelligence responsibilities reinforces that orientation.
We do not publish salary figures here because none are verified for this credential specifically. If compensation is a deciding factor, the CHTI Salary Guide and our CHTI jobs page discuss the topic qualitatively, and you should compare against current postings in your own region and agency type.
Keeping the Credential Active
The credential is renewed on a two-year cycle. The general license fee referenced for renewal is US$125, and the Department of Defense directory reports 25 CPE per cycle. Because issuer-specific CPE and fee policy can change, confirm the current requirements directly before your renewal date. This is a separate matter from the one-year exam license, which only governs your window to take the test.
A Domain-Ordered Start
Rather than a generic schedule, sequence your early preparation to mirror the logic of an investigation. Foundations first, then methods, then the legal and documentation layers that depend on them.
Definitions, Dynamics and Indicators
- Build precise working definitions before anything else, since every later domain assumes them.
- Study victim control mechanisms: coercion, dependency, debt and fear.
- Practice linking fragmented indicators into a corroborated picture.
Methods and Digital Research
- Cover investigative methods, then open-source research, then deep-web awareness in that order.
- Note the limits of each source type so scenario questions about reliability are easier.
Victim Support, Federal Law and Coordination
- Pair trauma-aware victim support with the legal requirements that constrain interviews.
- Review federal law and visa provisions, then interagency roles across levels of government.
Evidence, Reporting and Mixed Review
- Finish with evidence development and professional reporting, since they synthesize everything above.
- Run timed mixed sets from our practice test site to simulate the three-hour sitting.
Adjust the pace to your experience. Working investigators may compress Weeks 2 and 4; newcomers to federal law may want extra time in Week 3. For a one-page refresher near test day, use the CHTI cheat sheet, and if you want a sense of the challenge ahead, read How Hard Is the CHTI Exam?
Frequently Asked Questions
CHTI stands for Certified Human Trafficking Investigator. It is the credential offered through McAfee Institute for professionals who investigate or support human trafficking cases. For more on the name, see what CHTI stands for and the CHTI certification overview.
No. The pass rate is not publicly disclosed. What is published is the 70% passing threshold for the final examination, which is a score requirement, not a statistic about how many candidates pass.
The exam-only product describes a three-hour, closed-book, online-proctored assessment taken in a single sitting. Identity and webcam checks apply. The exact question count, item-format mix and proctoring vendor configuration are not verified for CHTI specifically, so confirm them with the issuer.
No. Qualified applicants may self-study and purchase the US$450 exam-only product, provided their role fits its audience restrictions. The US$1,497 course bundle adds 31 hours of instruction, 31 CPE and lifetime learning access, but it is not mandatory.
Candidates qualify with a bachelor's degree plus one relevant year, an associate degree plus two relevant years, or a high-school diploma or equivalent plus four relevant years. The exam-only route is narrower and excludes several private, nonprofit, volunteer and advocacy roles, so ambiguous cases need written issuer approval.